Major Update: Drama/Teaching
Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004: 9:11 p.m.


I have really wanted to update lately, but Senior Project owns me.

I think it goes without saying that we didn�t win our state competition, but we didn�t get any fucking awards at all! The judges hated us. I had thought we did well, but the judges were brutal and we won nothing. Then there was a speech given about how this girl in Virginia had been to competition with her school and had an audition for a scholarship and had done badly on both and committed suicide. They wanted to tell us that they appreciated all of us and that no one should take their own life because of not winning and stuff like that. It made me feel bad that someone was that upset about not winning. Our judges were so awful though. I think it's because we went first and they wanted to make examples of us. We ended up referring to our judges as "Stupid, Pregnant and Seaman." It was kinda funny. "Stupid" was named for the fact that she gave no groups any notes that had not been given by the other two judges. Every note that she gave anyone started with "I agree with Dan that..." or something of the sort. I think the naming of "Pregnant" is kind of obvious, but she was the meanest of all the judges and everyone at the competition hated her. Lastly, and my favorite, was "Seaman." This man's real last name: "Seaman." No joke. Not only that, but he had apparently done a lot of directing of ensemble plays so they renamed the "Best Ensemble Award" as the "Daniel E. Seaman Award." When they told us this, the crowd went wild.

We knew we wouldn't win because the judges had apparently hated us so much, but Mr. Knape (the drama teacher/director) had told us beforehand that if we didn't win anything, not to blame ourselves because we had done exactly what he told us to do and we did it
just how he wanted us to do it and it was our best performance yet. I'm satisfied with that, I suppose. Whatever, I guess, right?

My movie goes up at City Stage next week. That�s where I was in The Rocky Horror Show last year. I made flyers. They are absolutely precious. I made the picture on MS Paint. I need to go into the office tomorrow and have an announcement made about it. Maybe they�ll let me make the announcement. That might be slightly amusing.

There was something else I was planning to talk about and now I don�t remember� oh, okay, I remember.

I�ve started writing comics regularly and they are true stories because they are just about the random things that happen to me and I submitted the first issue to the school�s new �literary magazine� that is supposed to come out next week. I should have made a copy of it, but I didn�t, I gave them my only copy of Episode 1. Oh well. I wrote the website address all over the pages, so hopefully, people will check this out. When I get it back, I�ll scan it and put it up on the site.

I remember something else now! I went on a fieldtrip today with Teacher Cadet to check out the new Watson School of Education at UNCW. I got to sit in an Education 200 class with a few other people and I actually joined in on the discussion. The people with me were like, �Omigod, I can�t believe she�s actually talking.� I was irritated that I was the only one of us that spoke up. I was trying to be mature and professional, but I guess that�s just me� now. Wow, I really have grown up.

That�s about it for now, though, because I really need to finish my vocabulary homework.

Snort the mooncrack.

MOONCRACKHEAD AND AWAY!





diaryland.com