The Greatest Night of My Entire Life
2001-09-01: 2:15 p.m.


I know I haven't been here in a while and I know all I have written about is "The Search for the Inner Tifa." But today, I have story to tell. Last night was the greatest night of my entire life.

With nervously twisted tickets in my hands, Jennifer and I entered the Shwartz Center of Cape Fear Community College 5 minutes late. The opening band hadn't yet started. Within a few minutes,we saw and said hello to school friends and then the local band started, they called themselves "The Black Socks". They kicked beachballs into the audience and the party started. They were ok. Between songs, they threw out "Sundrop Concert Series 2001" shirts and pairs of black socks. Beachballs were bouncing along with people on their feet and on the mosh pit. They played for a half hour and threw more shirts. I caught two and Jenn caught a pair of socks. I gave her a shirt and she gave me a sock and then the real reason we were there came on stage.

"LADIES AND GENTLEMEN.... TONIC!!!"

They started to rock the house with "Open Up Your Eyes" and played on into "Mean to Me," "You Wanted More," "Knock Down Walls," "Soldier's Daughter," and my favorite, "Mountain." During "Casual Affair," I was the only person with my arm up in the air and I was doing a goathead and Emerson Hart looked me square in the eye and smiled, doing the goathead back. I almost fainted.

They played a few from the album they're working on now: "Keeping My Head on Straight," "Irish," and "Brother". After they said goodnight they were pulled back on by the cheers of the crowd yelling, "TON-IC! TON-IC! TON-IC!".

They came back with they're cigarettes in their mouths. Jeff (it was his birthday, btw) kept his in his mouth and Emerson stuffed his under a guitar string and left it smoking while they played everybody's favorite, "If You Could Only See." For the last chorus, he had the whole audience sing and when holding out the last "me" for "When says she loves me..." the audience was almost silent whispering it and I was 3 people away from the stage, I yelled at the top of my lungs, "I LOVE YOU EMERSON!" To which he responded by putting his lips to the microphone and saying, "I love you, too," and smiled. I could have died.

Instead of the concert being over at 10 like it was supposed to, they played for an extra hour, ending at 11. I took 2 pictures of Jennifer and me and 25 of the band. Riding home, I said to Jennifer, (don't be shocked by this quote folks) "This has been the greatest night of my entire life! Nothing will ever top this, not even the night I lose my virginity! Not unless I lose it to Emerson Hart!"

I can die now a happy person. They were even better in concert and they went higher then my expectations could have ever been. Cheal-sama, send me your address in a n e-mail, I believe I some pictures to send you. ^_^

Snort the mooncrack.

MOONCRACKHEAD AND AWAY! (Dreaming about Emerson Hart.)




diaryland.com